Free Paper Models




IPMC History

Papercraft Resources




Show Awards Rules

International Paper Models Convention 2017 Awards

The primary purpose of the International Paper Modelers' Convention is the enjoyment and promotion of the art and craft of paper model design and building; the sharing of wisdom, tips, and techniques; the trading of stories about the craft and its artisans; and the sharing of camaraderie and good fellowship. Awards are bestowed in that spirit.

Awards will be made in the following categories:

People's Choice: The People's Choice Award will be presented to the model voted "best" by all of the visitors and participants. A small card with a number printed on it will be placed by each model. Every person who walks through the door will be given a ballot to register an opinion as to the model they think is best by whatever criteria they choose. The model with the most votes wins.

Theme Category - Tanks and Tankers: George S. Patton, Jr.; SS Pendleton; the Renault FT; Esso gasoline trucks; the 20-mule-team borax wagon; a jail holding cell for miscreants; the briefing room of the U.S. Joint Chiefs of Staff; and the Pearl Harbor oil facility: all "tanks and tankers." Use your imagination to come up with an innovative model or set of models that fit this broad definition. The Awards Committee has the final say on what constitutes a "tank" or "tanker."

Best Table Display: Prizes will be awarded on the basis of eye appeal, enhancement of the appearance of the models displayed, and overall impression.

Most Unusual Model: Eye appeal and artisanship count, of course, but this one is entirely subjective, and one award, with one prize, will be determined by the sempiternal and inscrutable Awards Committee.

Greg Perry Silk Purse Out Of A Sow's Ear Award: Endowed by Greg Perry. One award to the best build of a "bad" kit. "Bad" meaning poor paper, ill-fitting parts, and other challenges.

Awards Committee Special Awards (ACSAs): The Awards Committee will make a number of awards for categories to be announced at the time of the awards ceremony. These awards are intended to recognize contributions to the paper modeling craft and to the IPMC, leavened by good humor and fellowship.

Don Boose, Anne McCombs, Rick Steffers, Lil Boose and Alan Wheeler (Emeritus)
IPMC 2017 Awards Committee